How to get unsampled reporting data in google analytics

How to get unsampled reporting data in google analytics

I will show you 2 approaches that will fix sampled data in your google analytics reports – also when you are using the free version of analytics. Long time period + lots of dimensions = sampled data If we have a situation where we want to report over a long time period for different dimensions we normally run into sampled data. For some cases, e.g. when you look at conversion data, this will give you just wrong numbers and lead to wrong actions. For that reason I highly recommend to always look at the “containsSampledData” field in the API Response if using the reporting API for fetching data. But which […]

Break down the bidding blackbox: Are there expensive, inefficient segments?

Break down the bidding blackbox: Are there expensive, inefficient segments?

If you are using a bidding system like google internal bidding or an external tool you are giving up most of the control. The don’t tell you the exact algorithms – it is blackbox to the user. What i observed over time are issues like that: When you use Googles CPA Target there are single Clicks that are more expansive than the CPA Target?! This can not be right… Stacked Bid Multipliers: In a lot of accounts bid adjustments make sense – but it is getting dangerous if they are not independent from each other. I those cases you might have very high CPCs where those bid multipliers are applied. […]

How to find high potential users and target them

How to find high potential users and target them

A very good starting point to get a feeling about the interesting customer attributes is to look into the brand traffic. What is the distribution of age/genders? What is the seasonality within a day, week or over the year? What is the device impression share? It depends a lot on your business how the derived user attributes look like, in the end you have a set of attributes with a value that is typically for your existing customer base. You can also cluster them using e.g. kmeans and build a group of the most important buyer personas. The result is a fingerprint of our target users. Too abstract? I will […]

Target CPA Bidding vs. Custom Bidding

Target CPA Bidding vs. Custom Bidding

First: Why not use draft and experiment by google? In my case I have a large amount of campaigns that should be part of the same test. Googles A/B Testing possibilities are always on campaign level. If all campaigns are used the number of cases is a lot higher and you have results more quickly. Some thoughts about how to set up the A/B Testing environment We have to split the account structure randomly in partitions that perform similar We have to ensure that the A/B Testing partitions do not overlap. For example one product has keywords in different matchtypes – if we split the same product into A and […]

AdWords script for labeling performance outliers

AdWords script for labeling performance outliers

If you interested to detect Campaign, AdGroups or Keywords that perform bad compared to the rest of your account this script might be right for you for automating this task. First some things to consider before starting scripting Sample size is as always a problem if we look at KPIs like ROAS, Conversion Rate, CPO, etc… It should be possible to use this as a variable for the script – if not using any limit we have false alerts all the time. Depending on your conversion rate and also on your deviation of your basket size the confidence interval can be quite broad. Hmm, which timeperiod we should use? For […]

Detect duplicate keywords with this AdWords Script!

Detect duplicate keywords with this AdWords Script!

What it does: Load the Keyword Performance Report Find duplicate Keywords across Campaigns and AdGroups (Draft and Experiments have to be excluded) Label the duplicate Keywords   But first one step back: Why duplicate Keywords can happen? I often see this in accounts that are already running for a long time and are often managed by different people that are also changing over time. The process of adding keywords will also look a little bit different over time – and suddenly here they are: duplicate keywords. In other cases product feeds are used to build thousands of keywords in an automated process – but the feed quality isn’t perfect in […]

Detect outlier segments in your AdWords accounts!

Detect outlier segments in your AdWords accounts!

What do I mean with “outlier segments”?  Think of very large pivot table and you start for your most important KPIs to look at every possible pivot view to identify segments where e.g.  the CPO is higher than normal. Standard dimensions in the keyword performance report where SEA managers look at would be: Campaign AdGroup Keyword MatchType QualityScore PostClickQualityScore Device The set of KPIs to analyze performance outliers in segments might be: ConversionValue CPO CR ROI Ok, let’s look at the possible combinations: All combinations do not fit on this screenshot – but i can tell you the total: 119 For 4 KPIs this means 4*119 = 476 possible pivot […]

Building a tagging system to analyze users search intend

Building a tagging system to analyze users search intend

Making use of the search queries that appear in your Adwords auctions offers a high potential for optimizing your business. If you millions of them you can’t do it manually. In this post I will talk about doing this job in an automated way that scales well also for Gigabytes of search queries. How to start? Here are some points that sound as a good starting point: Normally there are ready to use lookup lists available for every business. For example brandnames, product categories, etc. So without much effort we can use them already as a lookup base. If one or more matches can be made the tags are added […]

Detect anomalies in your AdWords data

Detect anomalies in your AdWords data

If you have just one account to manage the most common way is to set up some basic reports that show the daily development for your most important KPIs and your most important dimensions. Let’s assume we have the following AdWords KPIs: Impressions Clicks Costs Conversions ConversionValue CTR CPO CR AvgCPC AvgPosition To keep it simple we just look at one dimension: Device (Mobile | Desktop | Tablet) So in total we have 10*3 = 30 views on your data we have to monitor somehow – in other words: you have daily 30 cases where you have to decide whether it is an anomaly or not. In most cases this […]

Using word2vec for finding negative keywords

Using word2vec for finding negative keywords

Looking in the right way at your campaigns searchqueries offers a very high potential for optimizing your performance. We have approaches to analyse n-grams of the users queries and map all relevant KPIs like Cost Per Orders, Conversion Rates, Value Per Click, etc. Wait a moment! n-Grams, what’s that? Let’s say we have the following searchquery: hugo boss onlineshop 1-Grams would be: hugo boss onlineshop 2-Grams would be: hugo boss hugo onlineshop boss onlineshop When you do this over thousands of queries you will find some very interesting patterns that perform completely different. Let’s say the performance is very bad the action would be to add some negative keywords for […]